How do YOU Disclose HIV Status to Partners?

Being diagnosed with HIV can be a critical blow to a person’s sense of self-worth. But it does not mean we are dirty or unlovable; it just means we have a chronic illness we are living with until there is a cure. Nevertheless, in the mean time, you still have to live your life: date, get married, etc. So, how is your technique different with others in how you disclose you HIV status?

I am looking for examples of positive and healthy ways to disclose one’s HIV status if  he/she is HIV+. Please do your best and be honest with your story. If you are not HIV positive, how would you prefer someone to disclose their HIV status?  Please send your story to this address:suninmyeye@gmail.com.

I will pick the best five disclosure stories and publish them in my next article. Please be serious as this may help others learn how to disclose their status if they are newly HIV+.

3 responses to “How do YOU Disclose HIV Status to Partners?

  1. When I did research on serodiscordant couples many appeared to be very up front abut their diagnosis. Education played a key role in the HIV- partner being accepting of the status.

    I am assuming that I am HIV- (I’m getting tested in early May) but I would like my partner to be up front with me. The more I know that better I would feel. I know it’s not really the same but when I have a cold sore on my lip I don’t kiss my partner. That kind of prevention is needed so I don’t spread the virus. As long as my partner knows ways of prevention and we learn together, the only reason I wouldn’t date someone with HIV is because they were mean!

    • I find its awesome you are working closely with your partner because when I first test HIV+ I was alone except for a stranger who sat with me through the day. Education is the key as long as you use the knowledge safely. Honesty and openness are very important for both your safety an understand what monogamy really is about if that is what the 2 of you agree upon in your relationship. I have been hiv over 30 yrs. An ireally am happy you liked the article an hope you visit more an tell your friends an if god is willing I will write more, THANK YOU TG Green

      On Tue, Apr 16, 2013 at 2:19 PM, In Phase News

Leave a Reply

